Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

Heiliger Sebastian Magnet

Heiliger Sebastian Magnet

By Chrysler Museum of Art

Normaler Preis $3.00 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $3.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Available

Made in USA 

Dieser 2 x 3 Zoll große Magnet verfügt über ca. Gemälde des Heiligen Sebastian von Nicolas Régnier aus dem Jahr 1620, Teil der Sammlung des Chrysler Museum of Art. Seine sichere und leistungsstarke magnetische Rückseite lässt sich sicher an jeder magnetischen Oberfläche befestigen und ist somit der perfekte Artikel für die Dekoration jedes Zuhauses oder Büros.

Nicolas Régnier
Flämisch, 1591–1667, aktives Italien
Heiliger Sebastian, ca. 1620
Öl auf Leinwand

Sebastian diente als Hauptmann in der kaiserlichen römischen Armee, aber als er sich weigerte, seinen Glauben aufzugeben, wurde er von seinen Soldaten mit Pfeilen erschossen. Nicolas Régnier schilderte den grausigen Höhepunkt der Geschichte, indem er den gefesselten, von Pfeilen durchbohrten Sebastian zeigt, der zum Himmel auf Erlösung hofft.

  • Strong magnet

Product Details

  • Product type: Magnet
  • Shipping Dimensions: 2.0 × 3.0 × 0.125 inches  (5.1 × 7.6 × 0.3 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.1 lb (1.6 oz; 45 g)
  • SKU010009348

About the Artist, Nicolas Régnier

Der im flämischen Dorf Maubeuge geborene Nicolas Régnier studierte zunächst Malerei in Antwerpen bei Abraham Janssens, der um 1600 Italien besucht hatte und dessen Kunst vom römischen Stil Caravaggios beeinflusst war. Régnier selbst reiste nach dem Verlassen des Janssens-Shops um 1615 nach Rom und setzte dort seine Studien bei dem Maler Bartolomeo Manfredi fort, der zu den wichtigsten italienischen Schülern Caravaggios zählte. Régnier blieb bis 1625 in Rom, wurde ein prominentes Mitglied der flämischen Künstlerkolonie der Stadt und wurde von mehreren einflussreichen Kunstmäzenen angestellt, darunter Caravaggios ehemaliger Beschützer Vincenzo Giustiniani.

In seinen römischen Gemälden befürwortete Régnier Caravaggios nachdrücklichen Gebrauch von Hell -Dunkel-Kontrasten, um die Form zu modellieren. Bis 1626 hatte sich Régnier in Venedig niedergelassen, wo er für den Rest seines Lebens blieb. Während seiner venezianischen Zeit verzichtete er auf seine caravaggeske Ästhetik für einen leichteren, eleganteren Stil, beeinflusst von Guido Reni (Nr. 18). Alle vier seiner Töchter wurden Malerinnen; einer heiratete den prominenten venezianischen Künstler Pietro della Vecchia.

Mitglieder sparen 10 %

Mitglieder des Chrysler Museums erhalten 10 % Rabatt, wenn sie sich anmelden . Verwenden Sie den Rabattcode MEMBER10 an der Kasse.

Kein Mitglied? Melden Sie sich noch heute an und erhalten Sie Mitgliedsvorteile.

Thank You for your Support

Ihr Kauf unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museum of Art (einschließlich des Perry Glass Studio und des Moses Myers House). Wir könnten das, was wir tun, nicht ohne Sie tun. Danke schön.

Vollständige Details anzeigen

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Saint Sebastian Magnet

Saint Sebastian Magnet

Chrysler Museum of Art

Regular price $3.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $3.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

In stock

This 2 x 3 inch magnet features the ca. 1620 painting of Saint Sebastian by Nicolas Régnier, part of the Chrysler Museum of Art's collection. Its secure and powerful magnetic backing attaches securely to any magnetic surface, making it the perfect item for decorating any home or office.

Nicolas Régnier
Flemish, 1591–1667, active Italy
Saint Sebastian, ca. 1620
Oil on canvas

Sebastian served as a captain in the Imperial Roman army, but when he refused to give up his faith, his soldiers shot him with arrows. Nicolas Régnier portrayed the story’s grisly climax, showing the bound Sebastian pierced by arrows while looking heavenward for deliverance.

  • Strong magnet
  • Product type: Magnet
  • Shipping Dimensions: 2.0 × 3.0 × 0.125 inches  (5.1 × 7.6 × 0.3 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.1 lb (1.6 oz; 45 g)
  • SKU010009348

In these collections:

All Products | Chrysler Museum of Art | Gifts Under $10 | Made in USA | Magnets | Nicolas Régnier
View full details
Nicolas Régnier, Self-portrait with an easel (1623-24)

About the Artist

Nicolas Régnier

Nicolas Régnier (1591–1667), known in Italy as Niccolò Renieri, was a painter, art dealer and art collector from the County of Hainaut, a French-speaking part of the Spanish Netherlands. He is often referred to as a Flemish artist because this term was often used to designate people from the Spanish Netherlands. After training in Antwerp, he was active in Italy where he was part of the international Caravaggesque movement. His subjects include genre scenes with card players, fortune tellers, soldiers and concerts, religious scenes, saints, mythological and allegorical scenes, and portraits. He also painted a few scenes with carnivals.

Born in the Flemish village of Maubeuge, Nicolas Régnier first studied painting in Antwerp with Abraham Janssens, who had visited Italy around 1600 and whose art had been influenced by the Roman style of Caravaggio. After leaving Janssens' shop, Régnier himself journeyed to Rome around 1615 and there continued his studies with the painter Bartolomeo Manfredi, among the most important of Caravaggio's Italian followers. Remaining in Rome until 1625, Régnier became a prominent member of the city's colony of Flemish artists and was employed by several influential art patrons, including Caravaggio's former protector Vincenzo Giustiniani.

In his Roman paintings, Régnier endorsed Caravaggio's emphatic use of chiaroscuro (light-dark contrasts) to model form. By 1626 Régnier had settled in Venice, where he remained for the rest of his life. During his Venetian period he renounced his Caravaggesque aesthetic for a lighter, more elegant style influenced by Guido Reni (no. 18). All four of his daughters became painters; one married the prominent Venetian artist Pietro della Vecchia.

  • Thank you!

    For more than fifty years, every purchase from the Chrysler Shop supports the non-profit mission and educational programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art. Thank you for your support.

  • Membership has its benefits!

    Learn more about how you can support the Chrysler Museum and reap the benefits! Member perks include discounts, exhibition previews, reciprocal memberships and more!