Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

An diesem Tag in der Geschichte von Norfolk, Virginia

An diesem Tag in der Geschichte von Norfolk, Virginia

Arcadia Publishing

Normaler Preis $21.99 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $21.99 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Available

Made in USA 
Entdecken Sie das faszinierende Erbe von Norfolk, Virginia, und erkunden Sie seine geschichtsträchtige Vergangenheit mit Sarah Downing, einer lokalen Autorin, Historikerin und Reiseführerin. Dieses maritime Juwel wurde 1680 in der Nähe der Chesapeake Bay gegründet und hat im Laufe seiner langen Geschichte viel erlebt, vom britischen Beschuss am Neujahrstag 1776 während der Amerikanischen Revolution über die Panzerschlacht Monitor gegen Merrimack vor der Küste im Jahr 1862 bis hin zu Walter P. Chrysler verlegte 1971 seine Kunstsammlung in die Stadt und verwandelte das Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences in das renommierte Chrysler Museum. Tauchen Sie ein und erkunden Sie einen Tag oder Monat nach dem anderen mit dieser Hommage an die Geschichte Norfolks!

Product Details

  • Product Type: Local History, Handelstaschenbuch
  • 176 pages, with 46 illustrations
  • Published in 2015
  • Shipping Dimensions: 9.0 × 6.0 × 0.3 inches  (22.9 × 15.2 × 0.8 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 lb (11.2 oz; 318 g)
  • SKU010001229 | 9781626197039

About Sarah Downing

Sarah Downing liebt Geschichte. Die meiste Zeit ihrer Karriere arbeitete sie im Outer Banks History Center in Manteo, North Carolina. Sarah ist Autorin von vier Büchern bei The History Press über die Region Outer Banks. Ihr fünftes Buch handelt von ihrer Heimatstadt Norfolk, Virginia. Im Jahr 2015 zog sie ihre Einsätze hoch und machte sich auf den Weg in die Berge. Sie schreibt weiterhin eine Geschichtskolumne für das Magazin Outer Banks Milepost von ihrem Zuhause außerhalb von Asheville, North Carolina, wo sie auch versucht, Gitarre spielen zu lernen.

About Arcadia Publishing

Arcadia Publishing

Seit über 20 Jahren verbindet Arcadia Publishing Menschen wieder mit ihrer Gemeinde, ihren Nachbarn und ihrer Vergangenheit, indem es einen Einblick in die Geschichte ihrer Heimatstadt und oft vergessene Aspekte des amerikanischen Lebens bietet. In einem einzigartigen Bildformat mit über zweihundert Vintage-Bildern und begleitenden Bildunterschriften verfasst, beleben Arcadia-Bücher die geschätzten Erinnerungen, Menschen, Orte und Ereignisse, die eine Gemeinschaft ausmachen. Von den ikonischen Serien „Images of America“ und „Images of Aviation“ bis hin zu Postcard Histories und vielem mehr erwecken diese reich illustrierten Geschichten die amerikanische Kleinstadt zum Leben.

Vollständige Details anzeigen
  • Thank you!

    Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

    More 
  • Member Discount

    Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

    Details

Skip to product information
1 of 1

On This Day In Norfolk Virginia History

On This Day In Norfolk Virginia History

Arcadia Publishing

Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Out of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Available

Made in USA 
Discover the fascinating heritage of Norfolk, Virginia and explore its storied past with Sarah Downing, a local author, historian, and guide. Established in 1680 near the Chesapeake Bay, this maritime jewel has seen much throughout its long history, from British shelling on New Year's Day 1776 during the American Revolution, to the ironclad battle of Monitor versus Merrimack taking place off the coast in 1862, to Walter P. Chrysler moving his art collection to the city in 1971 and transforming the Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences into the renowned Chrysler Museum. Dive in and explore one day or month at a time with this celebration of Norfolk's history!

Product Details

  • Product Type: Local History, Trade Paperback
  • 176 pages, with 46 illustrations
  • Publication Date:
  • Shipping Dimensions: 9.0 × 6.0 × 0.3 inches
    (22.9 × 15.2 × 0.8 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 lb (11.2 oz; 318 g)
  • SKU010001229 | 9781626197039

About Sarah Downing

Sarah Downing loves history. Most of her career she worked at the Outer Banks History Center in Manteo, North Carolina. Sarah authored four books with The History Press about the Outer Banks region. Her fifth book is about her hometown of Norfolk, Virginia. In 2015 she pulled up stakes and headed for the hills. She continues to write a history column for Outer Banks Milepost magazine from her home outside of Asheville, North Carolina, where she is also trying to learn to play guitar.

About Arcadia Publishing

For over 20 years Arcadia Publishing has reconnected people to their community, their neighbors, and their past by offering a curbside view of hometown history and often forgotten aspects of American life. Composed in a unique pictorial format with over two hundred vintage images and accompanying captions, Arcadia books animate the cherished memories, people, places, and events that define a community. From the iconic Images of America series and Images of Aviation series to Postcard Histories and so many more, these richly illustrated histories bring to life small town America.

Chrysler Museum Member Discount

Members of the Chrysler Museum receive a 10% discount* everyday when logged in. Use discount code MEMBER10 at checkout.

Not a member? Join today and receive member benefits.

If you've recently joined or renewed, and you don't see your discount reflected at checkout after entering the code, contact us and we'll take care of it right away for you.

*does not include gift cards, clearance merchandise, or Blackwing pencils.

Thank You for your Support

Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

View full details