Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

Zweireihige „Alma“-Halskette mit mattiertem Recyclingglas und Silberperlen

Zweireihige „Alma“-Halskette mit mattiertem Recyclingglas und Silberperlen

By KJK Jewelry

Normaler Preis $75.00 USD
Normaler Preis $150.00 USD Verkaufspreis $75.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

3 in stock

Made in USA 
Inspiriert von den Pinselstrichen der späteren Gemälde von Alma W. Thomas kreiert die New Yorker Designerin Katherine J. Kornblau diese zweireihigen Halsketten mit recyceltem Glas und Silberakzenten.
  • 17 inch (43 cm) length, with 2 inch (5 cm) extender chain
  • Product type: Necklace
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37 lb (6.0 oz; 170 g)
  • SKU010004828
Vollständige Details anzeigen
  • Handmade with Love

    Handmade With Love

  • Made in USA

  • Woman Owned Business

    Woman Owned Business

  • Small Business

    Small Business

Alma WoodseyThomas (amerikanisch, 1891 - 1978) war ein afroamerikanischer Künstler und Lehrer, der in New York lebte und arbeitete Washington, DC, und gilt heute als einer der bedeutendsten amerikanischen Maler des 20. Jahrhunderts. Thomas ist vor allem für ihre „überschwänglichen“, farbenfrohen, abstrakten Gemälde bekannt, die sie nach ihrem Ausscheiden aus einer 35-jährigen Karriere als Kunstlehrerin in Washington geschaffen hat Shaw-Mittelschule.

Thomas, der oft als Mitglied der angesehen wird Washington Color School von Künstlern, aber alternativ von einigen als ein klassifiziert Expressionistin, erwarb ihr Lehramtsdiplom Universität des District of Columbia (damals bekannt als Miner Normal School) und war der erste Absolvent der Kunstabteilung der Howard University und pflegte ihr ganzes Leben lang Verbindungen zu dieser Universität. Als afroamerikanische Künstlerin war sie trotz allem erfolgreich Abgrenzung Und Vorurteil ihrer Zeit.

Thomas' Ruf ist seit ihrem Tod weiter gewachsen. Ihre Gemälde werden in namhaften Museen und Sammlungen ausgestellt und waren Gegenstand mehrerer Bücher und musealer Einzelausstellungen. Sie war Gegenstand der von Chrysler kuratierten Ausstellung Alma W. Thomas: Everything Is Beautiful .

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Two-strand 'Alma' Necklace with Blue and White Recycled Glass Beads

Two-strand 'Alma' Necklace with Blue and White Recycled Glass Beads

By KJK Jewelry

Regular price $75.00 USD
Regular price $150.00 USD Sale price $75.00 USD
Sale Out of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

3 in stock

Made in USA 
Influenced by the artistic strokes of Alma W. Thomas' later works, designer Katherine J. Kornblau of New York has crafted this two-stranded necklace with recycled blue and white glass beads, complemented by silver accents.
  • 17 inch (43 cm) length, with 2 inch (5 cm) extender chain
  • Product type: Necklace
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37 lb (6.0 oz; 170 g)
  • SKU010004828
View full details
  • Handmade with Love

    Handmade With Love

  • Made in USA

  • Woman Owned Business

    Woman Owned Business

  • Small Business

    Small Business

Alma Woodsey Thomas (American, 1891 - 1978) was an African-American artist and teacher who lived and worked in Washington, D.C., and is now recognized as a major American painter of the 20th century. Thomas is best known for the "exuberant", colorful, abstract paintings that she created after her retirement from a 35-year career teaching art at Washington's Shaw Junior High School.

Thomas, who is often considered a member of the Washington Color School of artists but alternatively classified by some as an Expressionist, earned her teaching degree from University of the District of Columbia (known as Miner Normal School at the time) and was the first graduate of Howard University's Art department, and maintained connections to that university through her life. She achieved success as an African-American female artist despite the segregation and prejudice of her time.

Thomas's reputation has continued to grow since her death. Her paintings are displayed in notable museums and collections, and they have been the subject of several books and solo museum exhibitions. She was the subject of the Chrysler-curated exhibition, Alma W. Thomas: Everything Is Beautiful.