Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 11

Projekt 562

Projekt 562

Penguin Random House

Normaler Preis $50.00 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $50.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Available

Die gefeierte Fotografin und Geschichtenerzählerin Matika Wilbur, ein Mitglied der Swinomish- und Tulalip-Stämme, präsentiert eine fesselnde Sammlung von Fotografien und Erzählungen, die das pulsierende Leben und die vielfältigen Kulturen der amerikanischen Ureinwohner heute auf fröhliche Weise darstellen. Durch ihre Linse feiert sie nicht nur das zeitgenössische Leben der amerikanischen Ureinwohner, sondern befasst sich auch mit den tiefgreifenden Herausforderungen und Problemen, mit denen die Ureinwohner weiterhin konfrontiert sind. Wilburs Arbeit bietet eine aufschlussreiche Erkundung der Erfahrungen der amerikanischen Ureinwohner und bietet ein tieferes Verständnis und eine Wertschätzung ihres reichen Erbes und ihrer anhaltenden Widerstandsfähigkeit.

Im Jahr 2012 begab sich Matika Wilbur auf eine inspirierende Reise, die durch eine Kickstarter-Kampagne vorangetrieben wurde und dazu führte, dass sie alle ihre Habseligkeiten in ihrer Wohnung in Seattle verkaufte. Ihre Mission war es, Menschen aus den damals 562 staatlich anerkannten Stammesnationen der amerikanischen Ureinwohner zu besuchen, mit ihnen in Kontakt zu treten und ihre Essenz einzufangen. In den folgenden zehn Jahren legte Wilbur eine erstaunliche Distanz von sechshunderttausend Meilen zurück und deckte dabei alle fünfzig Staaten ab – von den Everglades (ehemals Seminolenland) bis zum Beringmeer (ehemals Inuit-Territorium). Sie traf, interviewte und fotografierte fleißig unzählige indigene Menschen. Das daraus resultierende Werk stellt ein starkes Gegenmittel zu den allzu vereinfachten und veralteten Stereotypen dar, die in den Mainstream-Medien oft dargestellt werden. Wilburs Fotografien und Erzählungen werden dem Reichtum, der Vielfalt und den gelebten Erfahrungen des Indian Country gerecht und verstärken und würdigen die vielfältigen Realitäten der Ureinwohner.

Product Details

  • Product Type: Book, Gebundene Ausgabe
  • 416 pages, with 500 illustrations
  • Published in 2023
  • Shipping Dimensions: 10.3 × 10.3 × 1.5 inches  (26.2 × 26.2 × 3.8 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 4.9 lb (78.4 oz; 2223 g)
  • SKU010009452 | 9781984859525

About Matika Wilbur

Matika Wilbur ist eine von der Kritik gefeierte Sozialdokumentarfilmerin und Fotografin der Swinomish- und Tulalip-Völker an der Küste Washingtons. Projekt 562, eine durch Crowdfunding finanzierte Initiative zum Besuch, Engagement und Fotografieren von Menschen aus über 562 souveränen Stammesnationen in Nordamerika, ist ihr viertes großes kreatives Projekt zur Stärkung der Identität und Kultur der amerikanischen Ureinwohner. Sie moderiert gemeinsam mit Dr. Adrienne Keene den Podcast „All My Relations“ als Plattform, die Gäste dazu einlädt, sich mit den Themen zu befassen, mit denen die Ureinwohner heute konfrontiert sind, und die Zusammenhänge zwischen Land, nichtmenschlichen Verwandten und einander zu erkunden. Sie hat über 300 Keynotes an Orten wie Harvard, Yale, Berkeley, Google, TED Talks, der National Education Association und National Geographic Explorer gehalten und schreibt regelmäßig Beiträge für die New York Times.
Vollständige Details anzeigen
  • Thank you!

    Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

    More 
  • Member Discount

    Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

    Details

Skip to product information
1 of 11

Project 562

Project 562

Penguin Random House

Regular price $50.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $50.00 USD
Sale Out of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Available

Celebrated photographer and storyteller Matika Wilbur, a member of the Swinomish and Tulalip Tribes, presents a captivating collection of photographs and narratives that joyfully depict the vibrant life and diverse cultures of Native Americans today. Through her lens, she not only celebrates contemporary Native American life but also delves into the profound challenges and issues that Native people continue to confront. Wilbur's work provides an insightful exploration of Native American experiences, offering a deeper understanding and appreciation of their rich heritage and ongoing resilience.

In 2012, Matika Wilbur embarked on an inspiring journey fueled by a Kickstarter campaign, which led her to sell all her belongings in her Seattle apartment. Her mission was to visit, connect with, and capture the essence of individuals hailing from the 562 federally recognized Native American Tribal Nations at that time. Throughout the following ten years, Wilbur traversed an astonishing distance of six hundred thousand miles, covering all fifty states—venturing from the Everglades (formerly Seminole country) to the Bering Sea (formerly Inuit territory). She diligently met, interviewed, and photographed countless Indigenous people. The resulting body of work stands as a powerful antidote to the oversimplified and outdated stereotypes often portrayed in mainstream media. Wilbur's photographs and narratives do justice to the richness, diversity, and lived experiences of Indian Country, amplifying and honoring the multifaceted realities of Native peoples.

Product Details

  • Product Type: Book, Hardcover
  • 416 pages, with 500 illustrations
  • Publication Date:
  • Shipping Dimensions: 10.3 × 10.3 × 1.5 inches
    (26.2 × 26.2 × 3.8 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 4.9 lb (78.4 oz; 2223 g)
  • SKU010009452 | 9781984859525

About Matika Wilbur

Matika Wilbur is a critically acclaimed social documentarian and photographer from the Swinomish and Tulalip peoples of coastal Washington. Project 562, a crowd-funded initiative to visit, engage, and photograph people from over 562 sovereign Tribal Nations in North America, is her fourth major creative venture elevating Native American identity and culture. She co-hosts the All My Relations podcast with Dr. Adrienne Keene as a platform that invites guests to delve into subjects facing Native peoples today and explore the connections between land, non-human relatives, and one another. She has offered over 300 keynotes at such places as Harvard, Yale, Berkeley, Google, TED Talks, the National Education Association, and National Geographic Explorer, and is a regular contributor to the New York Times.

Chrysler Museum Member Discount

Members of the Chrysler Museum receive a 10% discount* everyday when logged in. Use discount code MEMBER10 at checkout.

Not a member? Join today and receive member benefits.

If you've recently joined or renewed, and you don't see your discount reflected at checkout after entering the code, contact us and we'll take care of it right away for you.

*does not include gift cards, clearance merchandise, or Blackwing pencils.

Thank You for your Support

Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

View full details