Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

Leonardo da Vinci Magnetic Finger Puppet

Leonardo da Vinci Magnetic Finger Puppet

By The Unemployed Philosopher's Guild

Normaler Preis $8.95 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $8.95 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Available

This Leonardo da Vinci Magnetic Finger Puppet is as impressive as the artist himself! With his iconic look and magnetic pull, you can celebrate the genius of da Vinci wherever you go! Comes with an information tag attached, with a mini bio tag of essential dates, key facts, and a quotable quote.

  • Recommended for ages 5 and up due to small parts
  • Information tag included

Product Details

  • Product type: Finger Puppet
  • Shipping Dimensions: 4.0
    (10.2 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19 lb (3.0 oz; 85 g)
  • SKU010010985 | 814229005148

About the Artist, Leonardo da Vinci

Leonardo da Vinci (geboren am 15. April 1452 in Anchiano bei Vinci, Republik Florenz [Italien] – gestorben am 2. Mai 1519 in Cloux [heute Clos-Lucé], Frankreich) war ein italienischer Maler, Zeichner, Bildhauer, Architekt und Ingenieur, dessen Fähigkeiten und Intelligenz vielleicht mehr als die jeder anderen Persönlichkeit das humanistische Ideal der Renaissance verkörperten. Sein Letztes Abendmahl (1495–98) und seine Mona Lisa (ca. 1503–19) gehören zu den beliebtesten und einflussreichsten Gemälden der Renaissance. Seine Notizbücher offenbaren einen Geist wissenschaftlicher Forschung und einen technischen Erfindungsreichtum, der ihrer Zeit um Jahrhunderte voraus war.

About The Unemployed Philosopher's Guild

Die Ursprünge der Arbeitslosen Philosophengilde sind rätselhaft. Einige Berichte führen die Geburt der Gilde auf Athen in der zweiten Hälfte des 4. Jahrhunderts v. Chr. zurück. Angeblich waren einige weniger bedeutende Philosophen des endlosen sokratischen Dialogs in ihrem Beruf überdrüssig geworden und wandten sich der Herstellung von Haushaltsgeräten und Spielzeugen zu. (Daher die Behauptungen, dass Sokrates sein Hemlock-Gift aus einem von der Gilde entworfenen Kelch getrunken hat, obwohl es heftige Debatten um die Frage gibt, ob es sich um einen „verschwindenden“ Kelch handelte.)

Andere argumentieren, dass die UPG aus dem Hochmittelalter stammt, als die Philosophengilde in die Welt des Handels einstieg, indem sie anzügliche Broschüren an Pilger verkaufte, die vor langen Schlangen vor der Toilette standen. Das Geschäft boomte, bis Papst Innozenz III. im Jahr 1211 die Veröffentlichungen verurteilte. Es überrascht nicht, dass dies zu höheren Umsätzen führte, obwohl die Hälfte unserer Mitglieder auf dem Scheiterhaufen verbrannt wurde.

In jüngerer Zeit haben revisionistische Historiker die Geburt der Gilde auf die Zeit zurückgeführt, als es noch cool war, in der Lower East Side von New York City zu leben. Zwei Brüder wandten ihre innere Kreativität und ihre Liebe zum Mieten dazu an, den Bedarf der Menschen an Fingerpuppen, warmen Hausschuhen, Kaffeetassen und Spaß zu decken.

Der Großteil des Erlöses kommt arbeitslosen Philosophen (und ihren Mitarbeitern) zugute. Ein Teil geht auch an einige Gruppen, die sich für tiefgreifende Anliegen einsetzen .

Mitglieder sparen 10 %

Mitglieder des Chrysler Museums erhalten 10 % Rabatt, wenn sie sich anmelden . Verwenden Sie den Rabattcode MEMBER10 an der Kasse.

Kein Mitglied? Melden Sie sich noch heute an und erhalten Sie Mitgliedsvorteile.

Thank You for your Support

Ihr Kauf unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museum of Art (einschließlich des Perry Glass Studio und des Moses Myers House). Wir könnten das, was wir tun, nicht ohne Sie tun. Danke schön.

Vollständige Details anzeigen

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Leonardo da Vinci Magnetic Finger Puppet

Leonardo da Vinci Magnetic Finger Puppet

By The Unemployed Philosopher's Guild

Regular price $8.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $8.95 USD
Sale Out of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Available

This Leonardo da Vinci Magnetic Finger Puppet is as impressive as the artist himself! With his iconic look and magnetic pull, you can celebrate the genius of da Vinci wherever you go! Comes with an information tag attached, with a mini bio tag of essential dates, key facts, and a quotable quote.

  • Recommended for ages 5 and up due to small parts
  • Information tag included

Product Details

  • Product type: Finger Puppet
  • Shipping Dimensions: 4.0   (10.2 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19 lb (3.0 oz; 85 g)
  • SKU010010985 | 814229005148

About the Artist, Leonardo da Vinci

Leonardo da Vinci (born April 15, 1452, Anchiano, near Vinci, Republic of Florence [Italy]—died May 2, 1519, Cloux [now Clos-Lucé], France) was an Italian painter, draftsman, sculptor, architect, and engineer whose skill and intelligence, perhaps more than that of any other figure, epitomized the Renaissance humanist ideal. His Last Supper (1495–98) and Mona Lisa (c. 1503–19) are among the most widely popular and influential paintings of the Renaissance. His notebooks reveal a spirit of scientific inquiry and a mechanical inventiveness that were centuries ahead of their time.

About The Unemployed Philosopher's Guild

The origins of the Unemployed Philosophers Guild are shrouded in mystery. Some accounts trace the Guild's birth to Athens in the latter half of the 4th century BCE. Allegedly, several lesser philosophers grew weary of the endless Socratic dialogue endemic in their trade and turned to crafting household implements and playthings. (Hence the assertions that Socrates quaffed his hemlock poison from a Guild-designed chalice, though vigorous debate surrounds the question of whether it was a "disappearing" chalice.)

Others argue that the UPG dates from the High Middle Ages, when the Philosophers Guild entered the world of commerce by selling bawdy pamphlets to pilgrims facing long lines for the restroom. Business boomed until 1211 when Pope Innocent III condemned the publications. Not surprisingly, this led to increased sales, even as half our membership was burned at the stake.

More recently, revisionist historians have pinpointed the birth of the Guild to the time it was still cool to live in New York City's Lower East Side. Two brothers turned their inner creativity and love of paying rent towards fulfilling the people's needs for finger puppets, warm slippers, coffee cups, and cracking up at stuff.

Most of the proceeds go to unemployed philosophers (and their associates). A portion also goes to some groups working on profound causes.

Chrysler Museum Member Discount

Members of the Chrysler Museum receive a 10% discount* everyday when logged in. Use discount code MEMBER10 at checkout.

Not a member? Join today and receive member benefits.

If you've recently joined or renewed, and you don't see your discount reflected at checkout after entering the code, contact us and we'll take care of it right away for you.

*does not include gift cards, clearance merchandise, or Blackwing pencils.

Thank You for your Support

Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

View full details