Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 13

Leonard Freed: Schwarz im weißen Amerika 1963–1965

Leonard Freed: Schwarz im weißen Amerika 1963–1965

Artbook | D. A. P.

Normaler Preis $59.95 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $59.95 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Niedriger Lagerbestand

Die maßgebliche Sammlung von Leonard Freeds wegweisendem und aktuellem Foto-Essay über die Bürgerrechte von 1968 in einer frischen und erweiterten Ausgabe

1961 war Leonard Freed im Einsatz in Berlin. Er fotografierte einen schwarzen Soldaten, der vor der Wand stand. Die Ironie dieses Soldaten, der die USA auf fremdem Boden verteidigt, während schwarze Amerikaner zu Hause für ihre Bürgerrechte kämpfen, ist Freed nicht entgangen. Er kehrte 1963 in die Staaten zurück, um den Marsch auf Washington zu fotografieren, und begann eine Reise, um schwarze Gemeinschaften im Norden und Süden zu dokumentieren, die in einem zutiefst segregierten und rassistischen Land leben.

Leonard Freeds bahnbrechender Fotoessay über Bürgerrechte, Black in White America , wurde erstmals 1968 veröffentlicht. Diese neu erweiterte und neu gestaltete Ausgabe enthält nie gezeigte Fotografien sowie Freeds ikonischste Bilder und ist die endgültige Sammlung seiner Fotografien aus dieser Zeit. Die Bilder wurden noch nie zuvor in einer solchen Qualität gedruckt, wobei die Klarheit des Drucks dazu dient, die einzigartige Kraft von Freeds Talent als Dokumentarfilmer deutlich zu machen.

Diese außergewöhnliche Arbeit umfasst entscheidende Momente in der Bürgerrechtsbewegung, wie den Marsch auf Washington und den Marsch von Selma nach Montgomery. Es ist auch eine nuancierte Reise in das gewöhnliche Leben einer marginalisierten schwarzen Gemeinschaft, die in einer tief gespaltenen Nation lebt. Freed wurde für sein einzigartiges Talent als sozialbewusster Fotojournalist gefeiert, und dieser Essay vermittelt mit Kraft und Würde den anstrengenden, endlosen Kampf, Schwarz im weißen Amerika zu sein.

Leonard Freed (1929–2006) war ein gefeierter amerikanischer Dokumentarfotojournalist und Mitglied von Magnum Photos. Geboren und aufgewachsen im Brooklyn der Arbeiterklasse, wurde Freed durch seine Darstellung gesellschaftlicher und rassischer Ungerechtigkeiten bekannt, insbesondere in Bezug auf die schwarze Gemeinschaft während der amerikanischen Bürgerrechtsbewegung in den 1960er Jahren. Er ist auch bekannt für seine Foto-Essays unter anderem über die jüdische Gemeinde in Amsterdam und Deutschland, den Jom-Kippur-Krieg, die asiatische Einwanderung in England, die Ölförderung in der Nordsee, Spanien nach Franco und die New Yorker Polizei in den 1970er Jahren.

  • Veröffentlicht von Reel Art Press, 17. November 2020
  • Gebundene Ausgabe
  • 224 Seiten, mit 160 Abbildungen
  • 31,75 × 24,13 cm (12½ × 9½ Zoll)
  • Product Type: Monographie
  • Shipping Weight: 5.0 lb (80.0 oz; 2268 g)
  • SKU010004172 | 9781909526778

In these collections:

Alle Produkte | Artbook | DAP | Bücher & Medien | Fotografie | Geschenke unter 100 $ | Monographien | Schwarzer Geschichtsmonat
Vollständige Details anzeigen
  • Danke schön!

    Jeder Kauf, den Sie tätigen, unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museums.

  • Eine Mitgliedschaft hat ihre Vorteile!

    Mitglieder melden sich an und geben an der Kasse den Rabattcode MEMBER10 ein, um Ihren 10 % Mitgliederrabatt zu erhalten.

Skip to product information
1 of 13

Leonard Freed: Black in White America 1963–1965

Leonard Freed: Black in White America 1963–1965

Artbook | D. A. P.

Regular price $59.95
Regular price Sale price $59.95
Sale Not In Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 available

The definitive collection of Leonard Freed’s seminal and timely 1968 civil rights photo-essay, in a fresh and expanded edition

In 1961, Leonard Freed was on assignment in Berlin. He photographed a Black soldier standing in front of the wall. The irony of this soldier defending the USA on foreign soil while Black Americans at home were fighting for their civil rights was not lost on Freed. He returned to the States in 1963 to photograph the March on Washington and began a journey to document Black communities in the North and South living within a deeply segregated and racist country.

Leonard Freed’s seminal civil rights photo essay, Black in White America, was first published in 1968. This newly expanded and redesigned edition includes unseen photographs, as well as Freed’s most iconic images and is the definitive collection of his photographs from the time. The images have never been printed in such quality before, the clarity of print serving to bring home the singular power of Freed’s talent as a documentarian.

This extraordinary work includes pivotal moments in the civil rights movement, such as the March on Washington and the Selma to Montgomery marches. It is also a nuanced journey into the ordinary lives of a marginalized Black community living within a deeply divided nation. Freed was celebrated for his singular talent as a socially conscious photojournalist, and this essay conveys with power and dignity the exhausting, endless struggle of being Black in white America.

Leonard Freed (1929–2006) was an acclaimed American documentary photojournalist and member of Magnum Photos. Born and raised in working-class Brooklyn, Freed rose to prominence for his portrayal of societal and racial injustices, particularly in relation to the Black community during the American civil rights movement in the 1960s. He is also renowned for his photo-essays on the Jewish community in Amsterdam and Germany, the Yom Kippur War, Asian immigration in England, North Sea oil development, Spain after Franco and the New York police department in the 1970s, among others.

  • Published by Reel Art Press, November 17, 2020
  • Hardcover
  • 224 pages, with 160 illustrations
  • 12½ × 9½ in (31.75 × 24.13 cm)

Explore related artwork at the Chrysler Museum

Product Details

  • Monograph
  • 5.0 lb (80.0 oz; 2268 g)
  • ISBN: 9781909526778
  • SKU010004172

About Artbook | D. A. P.

Artbook | D.A.P.

Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. is America’s premier source for books on twentieth and twenty-first century art, photography, design and aesthetic culture. Founded in 1990 in downtown New York at a time when fine and sometimes esoteric international art books had a difficult time making their way into the wider American marketplace, over the past three decades D.A.P. has grown into a major international distributor of books, special editions and rare publications from an array of the world’s most respected publishers, museums and cultural institutions.

Members Save 10%

Chrysler Museum members save 10% off when signed in. Use discount code MEMBER10 at checkout. 

Not a member? Join today and receive member benefits.

Thank You for your Support

Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Moses Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

View full details
  • Thank you!

    Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

    More 
  • Members save 10%

    Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

    Details