Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

In Montparnasse: Die Entstehung des Surrealismus in Paris, von Duchamp bis Dalí

In Montparnasse: Die Entstehung des Surrealismus in Paris, von Duchamp bis Dalí

Penguin Random House

Normaler Preis $18.00 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $18.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Auf Lager

In Montparnasse beginnt am Vorabend des Ersten Weltkriegs und endet 1936 mit der Enthüllung von Dalís Hummertelefon. Im Laufe dieser außergewöhnlichen Jahre fanden die Surrealisten immer innovativere Wege, das Innenleben zu erforschen und neue Fragen zur Definition von Kunst zu stellen. In Montparnasse erzählt, wie diese künstlerische Revolution inmitten der Salons und Cafés dieses pulsierenden Viertels stattfand.

Sue Roe ist sowohl eine scharfsinnige Kunstkritikerin dieser Stücke als auch eine betörende Biografin mit einem Gespür für diese fesselnde Welt. Beginnend mit Duchamp führt uns Roe durch den Aufstieg der Dada-Bewegung, die Geburt der surrealistischen Fotografie mit Man Ray, die Schaffung von Schlüsselwerken von Ernst, Cocteau und anderen bis hin zur Ankunft von Dalí. Auf der Leinwand und in ihren Readymades und anderen Werken stellten diese Künstler nie zuvor gesehene Objekte nebeneinander, um den Betrachter über das Gewöhnliche zu staunen – und über die Funktionsweise des Unterbewusstseins. Wir sehen, wie diese Kunst entstanden ist und wie die Künstler von Montparnasse gelebt haben. Roe bringt uns bei der Eröffnung von The Rite of Spring mit Gertrude Stein an ihren Logenplatz; mit Duchamp bei der Installation seines berühmten Urinals; bei einem Cocteau-Theater mit Picasso und Coco Chanel; mit Breton bei einer Sitzung mit Freud; und mit Man Ray, als er Kiki de Montparnasse romantisiert.

Stein drückte es am besten aus, als sie feststellte, dass die Surrealisten immer noch die üblichen Wege des 19. Jahrhunderts sahen, aber die Dinge mit der kühnen neuen Vision des 20. Jahrhunderts verkomplizierten. Ihre Worte markieren einen enorm wichtigen Wendepunkt in der Kunstgeschichte – und sie haben die Art und Weise, wie wir alle die Welt sehen, für immer verändert.

Geschrieben von Sue Roe, Autorin von In Montmartre: Picasso, Matisse and the Birth of Modernist Art.

  • Product Type: Buch, Handelstaschenbuch
  • 320 pages, with 16 illustrations
  • Published in 2020
  • Shipping Dimensions: 8.4 × 5.5 × 0.8 inches  (21.3 × 14.0 × 2.0 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 lb (11.2 oz; 318 g)
  • SKU010003529 | 9781101981191

In these collections:

Alle Produkte | Bücher & Medien | Geschenke unter 25 $ |
Vollständige Details anzeigen
  • Danke schön!

    Jeder Kauf, den Sie tätigen, unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museums.

  • Eine Mitgliedschaft hat ihre Vorteile!

    Mitglieder melden sich an und geben an der Kasse den Rabattcode MEMBER10 ein, um Ihren 10 % Mitgliederrabatt zu erhalten.

Skip to product information
1 of 1

In Montparnasse: The Emergence of Surrealism in Paris, from Duchamp to Dalí

In Montparnasse: The Emergence of Surrealism in Paris, from Duchamp to Dalí

Penguin Random House

Regular price $18.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $18.00 USD
Sale Out of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Available

In Montparnasse begins on the eve of the First World War and ends with the 1936 unveiling of Dalí’s Lobster Telephone. As those extraordinary years unfolded, the Surrealists found ever more innovative ways of exploring the interior life, and asking new questions about how to define art. In Montparnasse recounts how this artistic revolution came to be amidst the salons and cafés of that vibrant neighborhood.

Sue Roe is both an incisive art critic of these pieces and a beguiling biographer with a fingertip feel for this compelling world. Beginning with Duchamp, Roe then takes us through the rise of the Dada movement, the birth of Surrealist photography with Man Ray, the creation of key works by Ernst, Cocteau, and others, through the arrival of Dalí. On canvas and in their readymades and other works these artists juxtaposed objects never before seen together to make the viewer marvel at the ordinary—and at the workings of the subconscious. We see both how this art came to be and how the artists of Montparnasse lived. Roe puts us with Gertrude Stein in her box seat at the opening of The Rite of Spring; with Duchamp as he installs his famous urinal; at a Cocteau theatrical with Picasso and Coco Chanel; with Breton at a session with Freud; and with Man Ray as he romances Kiki de Montparnasse.

Stein said it best when she noted that the Surrealists still saw in the common ways of the 19th century, but they complicated things with the bold new vision of the 20th. Their words mark an enormously important watershed in the history of art—and they forever changed the way we all see the world.

Written by Sue Roe, author of In Montmartre: Picasso, Matisse and the Birth of Modernist Art.

Product Details

  • Product Type: Book, Trade Paperback
  • 320 pages, with 16 illustrations
  • Publication Date:
  • Shipping Dimensions: 8.4 × 5.5 × 0.8 inches
    (21.3 × 14.0 × 2.0 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 lb (11.2 oz; 318 g)
  • SKU010003529 | 9781101981191

In these collections:

All Products | Books & Media | Gifts Under $25 |

Chrysler Museum Member Discount

Members of the Chrysler Museum receive a 10% discount* everyday when logged in. Use discount code MEMBER10 at checkout.

Not a member? Join today and receive member benefits.

If you've recently joined or renewed, and you don't see your discount reflected at checkout after entering the code, contact us and we'll take care of it right away for you.

*does not include gift cards, clearance merchandise, or Blackwing pencils.

Thank You for your Support

Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

View full details