Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 17

Illustrierte schwarze Geschichte

Illustrierte schwarze Geschichte

Harper Collins

Normaler Preis $40.00 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $40.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Niedriger Lagerbestand

Eine wunderschöne Sammlung von 145 Originalporträts, die berühmte und wenig bekannte schwarze Pioniere aus Politik, Wissenschaft, Literatur, Musik und mehr würdigt – mit biografischen Reflexionen, alle erstellt und kuratiert von einem preisgekrönten Grafikdesigner.

Illustrated Black History ist eine atemberaubende Sammlung von Originalporträts, die schwarze Helden – sowohl berühmte als auch unbesungene – darstellen, die Aktivismus, Wissenschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft, Medizin, Technologie, Essen, Kunst, Unterhaltung und mehr geprägt haben. Jeder Eintrag enthält eine üppige Zeichnung oder ein Gemälde des Künstlers George McCalman sowie einen aufschlussreichen Aufsatz, der die Lebensgeschichte der Person zusammenfasst.

Die 145 Einträge reichen von Berühmten bis Wenig Bekannten, von der literarischen Koryphäe James Baldwin bis zur Dokumentarfilmerin Madeline Anderson, die „I Am Somebody“ über den Streik überwiegend weiblicher Krankenhausangestellter im Jahr 1969 produzierte; von Aretha Franklin bis zu James und Eloyce Gist, die Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts einen Wanderdienst hatten; von Colin Kaepernick bis Guion S. Bluford, dem ersten Schwarzen, der ins All reiste.

Dieses aufschlussreiche, lehrreiche, dynamische und zeitgemäße Kompendium ist wunderschön mit einzigartigen vierfarbigen Kunstwerken gestaltet und für Leser jeden Alters zugänglich. Es ist eine Hommage an schwarze Amerikaner und ihre Errungenschaften und zeigt die Tiefe und Breite des schwarzen Genies.

  • Product Type: Monograph, Gebundene Ausgabe
  • 384 pages, with 300 illustrations
  • Published in 2022
  • Shipping Dimensions: 9.1 × 7.4 × 1.375 inches  (23.1 × 18.8 × 3.5 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 2.5 lb (40.0 oz; 1134 g)
  • SKU010009227 | 9780062913234

In these collections:

Alle Produkte | Black History Month | Bücher & Medien | Gifts Under $50 | Monographien |
Vollständige Details anzeigen
  • Danke schön!

    Jeder Kauf, den Sie tätigen, unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museums.

  • Membership has its benefits!

    Mitglieder melden sich an und geben an der Kasse den Rabattcode MEMBER10 ein, um Ihren 10 % Mitgliederrabatt zu erhalten.

Skip to product information
1 of 17

Illustrated Black History

Illustrated Black History

Harper Collins

Regular price $40.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $40.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Low stock

A gorgeous collection of 145 original portraits that celebrates Black pioneers—famous and little-known—in politics, science, literature, music, and more—with biographical reflections, all created and curated by an award-winning graphic designer.

Illustrated Black History is a breathtaking collection of original portraits depicting black heroes—both famous and unsung—who made their mark on activism, science, politics, business, medicine, technology, food, arts, entertainment, and more. Each entry includes a lush drawing or painting by artist George McCalman, along with an insightful essay summarizing the person’s life story.

The 145 entries range from the famous to the little-known, from literary luminary James Baldwin to documentarian Madeline Anderson, who produced “I Am Somebody” about the 1969 strike of mostly women hospital workers; from Aretha Franklin to James and Eloyce Gist, who had a traveling ministry in the early 1900s; from Colin Kaepernick to Guion S. Bluford, the first Black person to travel into space.

Beautifully designed with unique four-color artwork and accessible to readers of all ages, this eye-opening, educational, dynamic, and timely compendium pays homage to Black Americans and their achievements, and showcases the depth and breadth of Black genius.

  • Product Type: Monograph, Hardcover
  • 384 pages, with 300 illustrations
  • Published in 2022
  • Shipping Dimensions: 9.1 × 7.4 × 1.375 inches  (23.1 × 18.8 × 3.5 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 2.5 lb (40.0 oz; 1134 g)
  • SKU010009227 | 9780062913234

In these collections:

All Products | Black History Month | Books & Media | Gifts Under $50 | Monographs |
View full details
  • Thank you!

    For more than fifty years, every purchase from the Chrysler Shop supports the non-profit mission and educational programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art. Thank you for your support!

  • Membership has its benefits!

    Learn more about how you can support the Chrysler Museum and reap the benefits! Member perks include discounts, exhibition previews, reciprocal memberships and more!