Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 7

Entgasen

Entgasen

Taschen

Normaler Preis $20.00 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $20.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

3 in stock

Edgar Degas (1834–1917), der am häufigsten mit der Geburt der impressionistischen Bewegung Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts in Paris in Verbindung gebracht wird, widersetzte sich tatsächlich einer einfachen Kategorisierung und entwickelte stattdessen einen einzigartigen Stil, der stark von alten Meistern, dem Körper in Bewegung und dem Alltag beeinflusst war städtisches Leben.

Als älterer Spross einer wohlhabenden Familie war Degas Mitbegründer einer Reihe von Ausstellungen „impressionistischer“ Kunst, distanzierte sich jedoch bald von der Gruppe, um einen realistischeren Ansatz zu verfolgen. Seine Themen konzentrierten sich auf die wimmelnden, lauten Straßen von Paris sowie auf Freizeitunterhaltungen wie Pferderennen, Kabaretts und insbesondere Ballett. Mit oft ehrgeizigen, unkonventionellen Blickwinkeln zählten seine Bilder von Ballerinas ungefähr 1.500 Werke, die alle tief in die Körperlichkeit und die Disziplin des Tanzes investiert waren.

Durch Illustrationen von Foyer de la Danse (1872), Musicians in the Orchestra (1872) und vielen mehr bietet dieses Buch einen wesentlichen Überblick über den Künstler, der eine ganz eigene Kategorie geschaffen hat, eine Welt der klassischen Resonanz, kühnen Kompositionen und eine endlose Faszination für Bewegung, die zusammen einige der auffälligsten und einflussreichsten Werke der Ära hervorbrachte.

Über den Autor

Bernd Growe (1950–1992) war ein führender deutscher Kunsthistoriker, der von 1979 bis 1990 an der Justus-Liebig-Universität in Gießen tätig war.

    • English edition

    Product Details

    • Product Type: Monograph, Gebundene Ausgabe
    • 96 pages, with 100 illustrations
    • Publication Date:
    • Shipping Dimensions: 10.2 × 8.3 × 0.6 inches
      (25.9 × 21.1 × 1.5 cm)
    • Shipping Weight: 1.25 lb (20.0 oz; 567 g)
    • SKU010003172 | 9783836532716

    About Bernd Growe

    Bernd Growe (1950–1992) was a leading German art historian, who worked at the Justus-Liebig-Universität in Gießen from 1979 to 1990.

    About the Artist, Edgar Degas

    Edgar Degas (1834–1917) war ein französischer Maler, Bildhauer und Grafiker, der in der Gruppe der Impressionisten eine herausragende Rolle spielte und weithin für seine Bilder des Pariser Lebens gefeiert wurde. Degas Hauptthema war die menschliche – insbesondere die weibliche – Figur, die er in Werken untersuchte, die von den düsteren Porträts seiner frühen Jahre bis zu den Studien von Wäscherinnen, Kabarettsängern, Hutmachern und Prostituierten seiner impressionistischen Zeit reichten. Balletttänzer und Frauen auf ihrer Toilette beschäftigten ihn während seiner gesamten Karriere.

    About Taschen

    Since its inception in 1985, the Taschen's Basic Art Series has evolved into the most successful collection of art books ever published. Each book in TASCHEN's Basic Art History series boasts around 100 color illustrations accompanied by explanatory captions, a detailed and illustrated introduction, and a carefully curated selection of the epoch's most significant works. These works are presented on a two-page spread, featuring a full-page image alongside an interpretation, as well as a portrait and a concise biography of the artist.

    Mitglieder sparen 10 %

    Mitglieder des Chrysler Museums erhalten 10 % Rabatt, wenn sie sich anmelden . Verwenden Sie den Rabattcode MEMBER10 an der Kasse.

    Kein Mitglied? Melden Sie sich noch heute an und erhalten Sie Mitgliedsvorteile.

    Thank You for your Support

    Ihr Kauf unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museum of Art (einschließlich des Perry Glass Studio und des Moses Myers House). Wir könnten das, was wir tun, nicht ohne Sie tun. Danke schön.

    Vollständige Details anzeigen

Skip to product information
1 of 7

Degas

Degas

By Taschen

Regular price $20.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $20.00 USD
Sale Sold out
in stock

Most commonly associated with the birth of the Impressionist movement in mid-19th-century Paris, Edgar Degas (1834–1917) in fact defied easy categorization and instead developed a unique style, strongly influenced by Old Masters, the body in motion, and everyday urban life.

The elder scion of a wealthy family, Degas cofounded a series of exhibitions of “Impressionist” art, but soon disassociated himself from the group in pursuit of a more realist approach. His subjects centered on the teeming, noisy streets of Paris, as well as its leisure entertainments, such as horse racing, cabarets, and, most particularly, ballet. With often ambitious, off-kilter vantage points, his images of ballerinas numbered approximately 1,500 works, all deeply invested in the physicality and the discipline of dance.

Through illustrations of Foyer de la Danse (1872), Musicians in the Orchestra (1872), and many more, this book provides an essential overview of the artist who created a category all his own, a world of classical resonance, bold compositions, and an endless fascination with movement, which together produced some of the most striking and influential works of the era.

About the Author

Bernd Growe (1950–1992) was a leading German art historian, who worked at the Justus-Liebig-Universität in Gießen from 1979 to 1990.

    Explore related artwork by Edgar Degas at the Chrysler Museum

    More Details

    • Monograph
    • Hardcover
    • 96 pages, with 100 illustrations.
    • Publication date:
    • 8.3 × 10.2 inches (21.1 × 25.9  cm.)
    • 1.25 lb (20.0 oz; 567 g)
    • ISBN: 9783836532716

    About the Artist, Edgar Degas

    Edgar Degas (1834—1917) was a French painter, sculptor, and printmaker who was prominent in the Impressionist group and widely celebrated for his images of Parisian life. Degas’s principal subject was the human—especially the female—figure, which he explored in works ranging from the somber portraits of his early years to the studies of laundresses, cabaret singers, milliners, and prostitutes of his Impressionist period. Ballet dancers and women at their toilette would preoccupy him throughout his career.

    Thank You for your Support

    Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Moses Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

    View full details
    • Thank you!

      Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

      More 
    • The Chrysler Shop is a member of the Museum Store Association.

      Details 
    • Members save 10%

      Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

      Details