Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 6

Liebes Gestern

Liebes Gestern

Penguin Random House

Normaler Preis $18.99 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $18.99 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet
Von der Geschichtskuratorin und Forscherin Kimberly Annece Henderson kommt dieser bewegende Brief, der die Geschichte der Schwarzen mit der Gegenwart verbindet, mit Archivfotos und wunderschönem Handlettering von Ciara LeRoy.

Im Jahr 2020 startete Kimberly Annece Henderson emaline and 'nem , ein auf Instagram basierendes Archivbildarchiv, das Porträts alltäglicher Afroamerikaner aus dem späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert zeigt.

„Dear Yesteryear“ ist eine schöne und lyrische Fortsetzung dieses Projekts, das sich mit der Vergangenheit befasst, die Vorfahren ehrt, die die Gegenwart möglich gemacht haben, und das alltägliche Treiben schwarzer Amerikaner feiert.

Product Details

  • Product Type: Book, Gebunden, mit Schutzumschlag
  • 40 pages, with 40 illustrations
  • Published in 2023
  • Shipping Dimensions: 8.3 × 11.3 × 0.4 inches  (21.1 × 28.7 × 1.0 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 lb (14.4 oz; 408 g)
  • SKU010009449 | 9780593529249

In these collections:

About Kimberly Annece Henderson und Ciara LeRoy

Die Autorin Kimberly Annece Henderson ist eine Geschichtsforscherin und Kuratorin mit Sitz in New York City. Sie hat einen Master in Bibliotheks- und Informationswissenschaften von der Syracuse University. Ihre Arbeit konzentriert sich auf Genealogie und schwarze amerikanische Abstammungslinien durch Fotografie, historische Bewahrung und Archive. Derzeit betreut sie digitale Projekte für das Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture der New York Public Library in Harlem. Und zuletzt kuratierte sie Archivfotos schwarzer Amerikaner für die New York Times 1619 Projektbuch.

Die Illustratorin Ciara LeRoy ist eine in Cincinnati ansässige unabhängige Künstlerin, die sich auf Handlettering, Illustration, Wandgemälde und Stickereien spezialisiert hat. Sie gründete Pretty Strange Design mit der Mission, wunderschöne, ausgefallene Kreationen zu schaffen, die Fantasie in den Alltag bringen.
Vollständige Details anzeigen
  • Thank you!

    Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

    More 
  • Member Discount

    Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

    Details

Skip to product information
1 of 6

Dear Yesteryear

Dear Yesteryear

Penguin Random House

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Out of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
From historical curator and researcher Kimberly Annece Henderson comes this moving letter connecting Black history with the present, with archival photographs and beautiful handlettering by Ciara LeRoy.

In 2020, Kimberly Annece Henderson started emaline and 'nem, an Instagram-based archival image repository that features portraiture of everyday African Americans from the late 1800s and early 1900s.

Dear Yesteryear is a beautiful and lyrical continuation of that project that addresses the past, honoring the ancestors who made the present possible and celebrating the ordinary goings on of Black Americans.

Product Details

  • Product Type: Book, Hardcover, with dust jacket
  • 40 pages, with 40 illustrations
  • Published in 2023
  • Shipping Dimensions: 8.3 × 11.3 × 0.4 inches  (21.1 × 28.7 × 1.0 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 lb (14.4 oz; 408 g)
  • SKU010009449 | 9780593529249

In these collections:

About Kimberly Annece Henderson & Ciara LeRoy

Author Kimberly Annece Henderson is a historical researcher and curator based in New York City. She holds a Master’s in Library and Information Sciences from Syracuse University. Her work centers genealogy and Black American lineages through photography, historical preservation, and archives. She currently facilitates digital projects for the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in Harlem. And most recently, she curated archival photographs of Black Americans for the New York Times 1619 Project Book.

Illustrator Ciara LeRoy is a Cincinnati-based independent artist specializing in hand lettering, illustration, murals, and embroidery. She started Pretty Strange Design with a mission to make beautifully offbeat creations that inject imagination into everyday life. 
View full details
  • Thank you!

    Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

    More 
  • Member Discount

    Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

    Details