Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 10

Alex Katz: Sammeln

Alex Katz: Sammeln

Artbook | D. A. P.

Normaler Preis $69.95
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $69.95
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

3 In stock

Die Entwicklung von Alex Katz: fast 80 Jahre rastloser Innovation in der Porträt- und Landschaftsmalerei über Malerei, Arbeiten auf Papier und Skulptur

Über Jahrzehnte intensiver kreativer Produktion hat Alex Katz versucht, einen Zustand des „absoluten Bewusstseins“ in Farbe einzufangen. Ob er einen flüchtigen Austausch zwischen Freunden oder einen durch Bäume gefilterten Lichtstrahl heraufbeschwört, sein Ziel war es, eine Aufzeichnung „schneller Dinge, die vorbeigehen“ zu erstellen und den Fluss des Alltags zu einem verdichteten Ausbruch optischer Wahrnehmung zu verdichten. Anlässlich der ersten US-Karriere-Retrospektive des Künstlers seit mehr als 30 Jahren veröffentlicht, bietet Alex Katz: Gathering einen endgültigen Bericht über Katz' künstlerisches Projekt und demonstriert sowohl seine ausgeprägte Kohärenz als auch seine rastlose Entwicklung. Großzügig illustriert, zeigt das Buch die gesamte Breite der Arbeit des Künstlers über Medien und Formate hinweg, von intimen Skizzen von Fahrgästen in der New Yorker U-Bahn in den späten 1940er Jahren bis hin zu den hinreißenden, monumentalen Landschaften, die seine jüngste Produktion dominiert haben.

Essays von Künstlern, Schriftstellern und Kunsthistorikern bieten frische, maßgebliche Übersichten über die Praxis des Künstlers neben fokussierteren Betrachtungen spezifischer Facetten seiner Kunst, darunter seine Blumenbilder, Collagen, Drucke, freistehenden „Ausschnitte“ und Bühnenbild-Kooperationen mit dem Paul Taylor Dance Unternehmen. Ein Quellenbuch mit historischen Rezensionen, Essays und Gedichten rundet den Band ab, der eine überfällige Neubewertung des Schaffens des Künstlers bietet.

Veröffentlicht anlässlich von Katz' erster US-Karriere-Retrospektive seit über 30 Jahren im Oktober 2022 im Guggenheim Museum in New York.

Explore related artwork by Alex Katze at the Chrysler Museum

Über den Künstler, Alex Katze

Alex Katz (*1927) ist einer der bekanntesten und produktivsten Künstler Amerikas. Seine Arbeiten waren seit 1951 Gegenstand von mehr als 250 Einzelausstellungen und 500 Gruppenausstellungen und befinden sich in über 100 öffentlichen Sammlungen weltweit.

Produktdetails

  • Product Type: Exhibition Catalog, Gebundene Ausgabe
  • 384 pages, with 360 illustrations
  • Publication Date:
  • Shipping Dimensions: 11.5  × 9.5
    (29.2  × 24.1 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 4.5 lb (72.0 oz; 2041 g)
  • SKU010008027 | ISBN: 9780892075607

Mitglieder sparen 10 %

Mitglieder des Chrysler Museums erhalten 10 % Rabatt, wenn sie sich anmelden . Verwenden Sie den Rabattcode MEMBER10 an der Kasse.

Kein Mitglied? Melden Sie sich noch heute an und erhalten Sie Mitgliedsvorteile.

Danke für Ihre Unterstützung

Ihr Kauf unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museum of Art (einschließlich des Perry Glass Studio und des Moses Myers House). Wir könnten das, was wir tun, nicht ohne Sie tun. Danke schön.

Vollständige Details anzeigen

Skip to product information
1 of 10

Alex Katz: Gathering

Alex Katz: Gathering

Artbook | D. A. P.

Regular price $69.95
Regular price Sale price $69.95
Sale Not In Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

3 In stock

The evolution of Alex Katz: nearly 80 years of restless innovation in portraiture and landscape across painting, works on paper and sculpture

Across decades of intense creative production, Alex Katz has sought to capture a state of “absolute awareness” in paint. Whether evoking a glancing exchange between friends or a shaft of light filtered through trees, he has aimed to create a record of “quick things passing,” compressing the flux of everyday life into a condensed burst of optical perception. Published on the occasion of the artist’s first US career retrospective in more than 30 years, Alex Katz: Gathering offers a definitive account of Katz’s artistic project, demonstrating both its marked coherence and restless evolution. Generously illustrated, the book features the full breadth of the artist’s work across mediums and formats, from intimate sketches of riders on the New York City subway in the late 1940s to the rapturous, monumentally scaled landscapes that have dominated his recent production.

Essays by artists, writers and art historians offer fresh, authoritative overviews of the artist’s practice alongside more focused considerations of specific facets of his art, including his flower paintings, collages, prints, freestanding “cutouts” and set design collaborations with the Paul Taylor Dance Company. A sourcebook of historical reviews, essays and poems rounds out the volume, which offers an overdue reassessment of the artist’s oeuvre.

Published to accompany Katz's first US career retrospective in over 30 years, in October 2022 at the Guggenheim Museum in New York.

 

Explore related artwork by Alex Katz at the Chrysler Museum

Product Details

  • Exhibition Catalog
  • Hardcover
  • 384 pages
  • 360 illustrations
  • Publication date:
  • Height: 11.5 inches (29.2 cm)
  • Width: 9.5 inches (24.1 cm)
  • 4.5 lb (72.0 oz; 2041 g)
  • ISBN: 9780892075607
  • SKU010008027

About the Artist, Alex Katz

Alex Katz (born 1927) is one of America’s most iconic and prolific artists. His work has been the subject of more than 250 solo exhibitions and 500 group exhibitions since 1951 and can be found in over 100 public collections worldwide.

Members Save 10%

Chrysler Museum members save 10% off when signed in. Use discount code MEMBER10 at checkout. 

Not a member? Join today and receive member benefits.

Thank You for your Support

Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Moses Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

View full details
  • Thank you!

    Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

    More 
  • Members save 10%

    Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

    Details