Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 9

Abstrakte Kunst: Eine globale Geschichte

Abstrakte Kunst: Eine globale Geschichte

Thames & Hudson

Normaler Preis $85.00 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $85.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Niedriger Lagerbestand

Eine führende Autorität auf diesem Gebiet präsentiert in dieser reich illustrierten und überzeugenden Geschichte einen radikal neuen Ansatz zum Verständnis abstrakter Kunst.

In seiner neuen Interpretation der abstrakten Kunst zeichnet der bekannte Kunsthistoriker Pepe Karmel die Bewegung aus einer globalen Perspektive auf und bettet die Abstraktion in eine erkennbare Realität ein. Der Autor geht über das kanonische Terrain der abstrakten Kunst hinaus und zeigt, wie Künstler aus der ganzen Welt abstrakte Bilder verwendet haben, um soziale, kulturelle und spirituelle Erfahrungen auszudrücken.

Karmel baut diesen frischen Ansatz zur abstrakten Kunst um fünf umfassende Themen auf: Körper, Landschaft, Kosmologie, Architektur und von Menschen geschaffene Zeichen und Muster. Dabei entwickelt diese Geschichte eine Reihe von Erzählungen, die weit über die etablierten Figuren und Strömungen hinausgehen, die traditionell mit der abstrakten Kunst assoziiert werden. Jede Erzählung wird durch eine Reihe vorgestellter abstrakter Werke ergänzt, die in zum Nachdenken anregenden Paarungen mit begleitenden erweiterten Bildunterschriften angeordnet sind, die eine eingehende Analyse bieten. Diese weitreichende Untersuchung umfasst Arbeiten aus Asien, Australien, Afrika und Südamerika sowie Europa und Nordamerika durch Künstler von Wu Guanzhong, Joan Miró, Jackson Pollock bis hin zu Hilma af Klint und Odili Donald Odita. Karmel hat neue Wege beschritten und eine neue Geschichte dieser wichtigen Kunstrichtung geschrieben.

Über den Autor

Pepe Karmel erhielt seinen BA vom Harvard College und promovierte am Institute of Fine Arts der New York University. Er lehrt am Institut für Kunstgeschichte der New York University. Zu seinen Büchern gehören Picasso und die Erfindung des Kubismus . Er hat Essays zu zahlreichen Ausstellungskatalogen beigetragen und für Publikationen wie Art in America und die New York Times geschrieben .

  • Product Type: Buch, Gebunden, mit Schutzumschlag
  • 344 pages, with 250 illustrations
  • Published in 2020
  • Shipping Dimensions: 12.5 × 9.8 × 1.3 inches  (31.8 × 24.9 × 3.3 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 5.3 lb (84.8 oz; 2404 g)
  • SKU010004412 | 9780500239582

In these collections:

Alle Produkte | Bücher & Medien | Geschenke unter 100 $ |
Vollständige Details anzeigen
  • Danke schön!

    Jeder Kauf, den Sie tätigen, unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museums.

  • Eine Mitgliedschaft hat ihre Vorteile!

    Mitglieder melden sich an und geben an der Kasse den Rabattcode MEMBER10 ein, um Ihren 10 % Mitgliederrabatt zu erhalten.

Skip to product information
1 of 9

Abstract Art: A Global History

Abstract Art: A Global History

Thames & Hudson

Regular price $85.00
Regular price Sale price $85.00
Sale Not In Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

2 In stock

A leading authority on the subject presents a radically new approach to the understanding of abstract art, in this richly illustrated and persuasive history.

In his fresh take on abstract art, noted art historian Pepe Karmel chronicles the movement from a global perspective, while embedding abstraction in a recognizable reality. Moving beyond the canonical terrain of abstract art, the author demonstrates how artists from around the world have used abstract imagery to express social, cultural, and spiritual experience.

Karmel builds this fresh approach to abstract art around five inclusive themes: body, landscape, cosmology, architecture, and man-made signs and patterns. In the process, this history develops a series of narratives that go far beyond the established figures and movements traditionally associated with abstract art. Each narrative is complemented by a number of featured abstract works, arranged in thought-provoking pairings with accompanying extended captions that provide an in-depth analysis. This wide-ranging examination incorporates work from Asia, Australia, Africa, and South America, as well as Europe and North America, through artists ranging from Wu Guanzhong, Joan Miró, Jackson Pollock, to Hilma af Klint, and Odili Donald Odita. Breaking new ground, Karmel has forged a new history of this key art movement.

About the Author

Pepe Karmel received his BA from Harvard College and his PhD from the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University. He teaches in the department of art history, New York University. His books include Picasso and the Invention of Cubism. He has contributed essays to numerous exhibition catalogs and has written for publications including Art in America and the New York Times.

Product Details

  • Book
  • Hardcover, with dust jacket
  • 344 pages
  • 250 illustrations
  • Publication date:
  • Height: 12.5 inches (31.8 cm)
  • Width: 9.8 inches (24.9 cm)
  • Thickness: 1.3 inches (3.3 cm)
  • 5.3 lb (84.8 oz; 2404 g)
  • ISBN: 9780500239582
  • SKU010004412

Members Save 10%

Chrysler Museum members save 10% off when signed in. Use discount code MEMBER10 at checkout. 

Not a member? Join today and receive member benefits.

Thank You for your Support

Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Moses Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

View full details
  • Thank you!

    Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

    More 
  • Members save 10%

    Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

    Details