Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

Eine kurze Geschichte der schwarzen britischen Kunst

Eine kurze Geschichte der schwarzen britischen Kunst

Abrams

Normaler Preis $21.99 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $21.99 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Only 1 available

Schwarze Künstler in Großbritannien leisten seit langem wichtige Beiträge zur Kunstgeschichte. Während einige dieser Künstler zeitweise von der Kunstwelt umarmt wurden, haben sie zum größten Teil nicht die Anerkennung erhalten, die sie verdienen.

Ausgehend von der in London ansässigen Caribbean Artists Movement stellt diese kurze Einführung die Arbeit von über sechzig schwarzen britischen Künstlern von den 1960er Jahren bis heute vor. Die hier enthaltenen Werke bieten eine Linse, durch die das politische und kulturelle Klima verstanden und kontextualisiert werden kann, während sie gleichzeitig Licht auf die einzigartige Erfahrung der Schwarzen Briten werfen. Dieses Buch basiert auf zeitgenössischen Gedanken zu Rasse, Nationalität, Staatsbürgerschaft, Geschlecht, Klasse, Sexualität und Ästhetik in Großbritannien und untersucht Themen im Herzen der schwarzen britischen Kunst.

In einer Zeit, in der die Vertretung schwarzer Künstler und die Befragung der Ethik der Kunstwelt eine neue Dringlichkeit erlangt haben, ist dies eine zeitgemäße und zugängliche Veröffentlichung, die schwarze Künstler in Großbritannien und ihren herausragenden Beitrag zur Kunst und globalen Kultur feiert.

Über den Mitwirkenden

Rianna Jade Parker ist Kritikerin, Kuratorin und Forscherin und lebt im Süden Londons. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied des interdisziplinären Kunstkollektivs Thick/er Black Lines, dessen Arbeiten in der wegweisenden Ausstellung Get Up, Stand Up Now: Generations of Black Creative Pioneers im Somerset House, London, ausgestellt wurden. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin der Zeitschrift Frieze und Co-Kuratorin von War Inna Babylon: The Community’s Struggle for Truths and Rights am Institute of Contemporary Arts, London.

Product Details

  • Product Type: Book, Taschenbuch
  • 160 pages, with 70 illustrations
  • Publication Date:
  • Shipping Dimensions: 7.0 × 5.5
    (17.8 × 14.0 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 lb (11.2 oz; 318 g)
  • SKU010006704 | ISBN: 9781849767569

In these collections:

Alle Produkte | Bücher & Medien | Gifts Under $25 |

Mitglieder sparen 10 %

Mitglieder des Chrysler Museums erhalten 10 % Rabatt, wenn sie sich anmelden . Verwenden Sie den Rabattcode MEMBER10 an der Kasse.

Kein Mitglied? Melden Sie sich noch heute an und erhalten Sie Mitgliedsvorteile.

Thank You for your Support

Ihr Kauf unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museum of Art (einschließlich des Perry Glass Studio und des Moses Myers House). Wir könnten das, was wir tun, nicht ohne Sie tun. Danke schön.

Vollständige Details anzeigen

Skip to product information
1 of 1

A Brief History of Black British Art

A Brief History of Black British Art

Abrams

Regular price $21.99
Regular price Sale price $21.99
Sale Not In Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

3 In stock

Black artists in Britain have long been making major contributions to art history. While some of these artists have been embraced at times by the art world, for the most part they have not received the recognition they deserve. 

Taking as its starting point the London-based Caribbean Artists Movement, this concise introduction showcases the work of over sixty Black British artists from the 1960s until the present. The works included here offer a lens through which to understand and contextualize the political and cultural climate, while shedding light on the unique Black British experience. Constructed around contemporary thoughts on race, nationhood, citizenship, gender, class, sexuality and aesthetics in Britain, this book explores themes at the heart of Black British Art.  

At a time when representation of Black artists and the interrogation of the ethics of the art world have taken on a renewed urgency, this is a timely and accessible publication which celebrates Black artists in Britain and their outstanding contribution to art and global culture.

About the Contributor

Rianna Jade Parker is a critic, curator and researcher based in south London. She is a founding member of interdisciplinary art collective Thick/er Black Lines, whose work was exhibited in the landmark exhibition Get Up, Stand Up Now: Generations of Black Creative Pioneers at Somerset House, London. She is a Contributing Editor of Frieze magazine and co-curated War Inna Babylon: The Community’s Struggle for Truths and Rights at the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London.

Product Details

  • Book
  • Paperback
  • 160 pages
  • 70 illustrations
  • Publication date:
  • Height: 7.0 inches (17.8 cm)
  • Width: 5.5 inches (14.0 cm)
  • 0.7 lb (11.2 oz; 318 g)
  • ISBN: 9781849767569
  • SKU010006704

Members Save 10%

Chrysler Museum members save 10% off when signed in. Use discount code MEMBER10 at checkout. 

Not a member? Join today and receive member benefits.

Thank You for your Support

Your purchase supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum of Art (including the Perry Glass Studio, and the Moses Myers House). We couldn't do what we do without you. Thank you.

View full details
  • Thank you!

    Every purchase you make supports the mission and programs of the Chrysler Museum.

    More 
  • Members save 10%

    Members log in and enter the discount code MEMBER10 at checkout to apply your 10% member discount.

    Details