Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 8

Dorothea Lange Worte & Bilder

Dorothea Lange Worte & Bilder

Artbook | D. A. P.

Normaler Preis $55.00 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $55.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

2 In stock

„Alle Fotografien – nicht nur die sogenannten ‚Dokumentarfilme‘ … können mit Worten verstärkt werden“, sagte Dorothea Lange gegen Ende ihres Lebens. Obwohl Langes Karriere weithin angekündigt wurde, wurde dieser Verbindung zwischen Wort und Bild kaum Beachtung geschenkt. Als engagierte soziale Beobachterin widmete Lange der Conditio Humana ein scharfes Augenmerk und vermittelte durch ihre Fotografien und die Stimmen, die sie einfingen, Geschichten aus dem Alltag. Veröffentlicht im Zusammenhang mit der ersten großen MoMA-Ausstellung von Lange seit 50 Jahren, Dorothea Lange: Words & Pictures bringt neue Aufmerksamkeit auf ikonische Werke aus der Sammlung zusammen mit weniger bekannten Fotografien – von der frühen Straßenfotografie bis hin zu Projekten zum Strafjustizsystem. Die komplexen Beziehungen der Arbeit zu Wörtern zeigen Langes Interesse an der Kraft der Kunst, öffentliches Bewusstsein zu schaffen und eine Verbindung zu intimen Erzählungen in der Welt herzustellen.

Das Buch präsentiert Langes Werk in seinen vielfältigen Kontexten – Fotobücher, Regierungsberichte aus der Zeit der Depression, Zeitungen, Zeitschriften, Gedichte – zusammen mit den Stimmen zeitgenössischer Künstler, Schriftsteller und Denker und bietet ein nuanciertes Verständnis von Langes Karriere und neue Möglichkeiten, Wörter zu betrachten und Bilder heute. Einem einführenden Essay der Kuratorin Sarah Hermanson Meister folgen Abschnitte, die nach „Worten“ aus verschiedenen historischen Kontexten geordnet sind: Langes wegweisendes Fotobuch An American Exodus , Life und Aperture Magazine, ein illustrierter Leitfaden zur Minimierung von Rassismus in Geschworenenprozessen und vieles mehr . Diese Kontexte werden durch originelle Beiträge einer angesehenen Gruppe zeitgenössischer Schriftsteller, Künstler und kritischer Denker unterstrichen, darunter Julie Ault, Kimberly Juanita Brown, River Encalada Bullock, Sam Contis, Jennifer Greenhill, Lauren Kroiz, Sally Mann, Sandra Phillips und Wendy Red Star , Christina Sharpe, Rebecca Solnit, Robert Slifkin und Tess Taylor.

Dorothea Lange (1895–1965) betrieb in den 1920er Jahren ein erfolgreiches Porträtstudio in San Francisco, bevor sie mit der Resettlement Administration (und später der Farm Security Administration) zusammenarbeitete, um die Nöte der Weltwirtschaftskrise und der Dust-Bowl-Migration zu dokumentieren. Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs arbeitete Lange für die US-Regierung und fotografierte die japanisch-amerikanischen Internierungslager und die kalifornische Kriegswirtschaft. Langes Fotografien wurden zu ihren Lebzeiten vielfach veröffentlicht. Lange arbeitete eng mit dem Kurator John Szarkowski an einer Retrospektive zusammen, die 1966 posthum im Museum of Modern Art eröffnet wurde.

  • 176 Seiten
  • 70 Farb- und 76 Duplexabbildungen
  • In Leinen gebunden
  • 22,8 × 26,6 cm (9 × 10½ Zoll)
  • Veröffentlicht im Februar 2020 vom Museum of Modern Art

Explore related artwork by Dorothea Lange at the Chrysler Museum

Product Details

  • Product Type: Exhibition Catalog, Gebundene Ausgabe
  • 160 pages, with 145 illustrations
  • Publication Date:
  • Shipping Dimensions: 10.9 × 9.4 × 0.9 inches
    (27.7 × 23.9 × 2.3 cm)
  • Shipping Weight: 2.4 lb (38.4 oz; 1089 g)
  • SKU010003069 | ISBN: 9781633451049

About the Artist, Dorothea Lange

Dorothea Lange was a pioneering American photographer whose profound images captured the essence of the human experience during one of the most challenging periods in U.S. history. Born in 1895 in Hoboken, New Jersey, Lange developed a passion for photography at a young age. She documented the lives of people affected by the Great Depression, the Dust Bowl, and the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

Lange's iconic photographs, such as "Migrant Mother," have become powerful symbols of resilience and social justice. Through her lens, she revealed the hardships faced by marginalized communities and shed light on the inequalities and injustices of the time. Lange's empathetic approach and ability to capture the raw emotions of her subjects made her work deeply impactful and transformative.

Her photographs served as a catalyst for social change, raising awareness and prompting action to address the issues faced by the most vulnerable members of society. Lange's commitment to documenting the human condition and advocating for social justice solidified her position as one of the most influential photographers of the 20th century. Her work continues to inspire and provoke thought, reminding us of the power of photography to shape our understanding of the world and ignite meaningful conversations about social issues.

About Artbook | D. A. P.

Artbook | D.A.P.

Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. ist Amerikas wichtigste Quelle für Bücher über Kunst, Fotografie, Design und ästhetische Kultur des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. DAP wurde 1990 in der Innenstadt von New York zu einer Zeit gegründet, als es schwierig war, feine und manchmal esoterische internationale Kunstbücher auf den breiteren amerikanischen Markt zu bringen seltene Veröffentlichungen von einer Reihe der weltweit angesehensten Verlage, Museen und kulturellen Institutionen.

Mitglieder sparen 10 %

Mitglieder des Chrysler Museums erhalten 10 % Rabatt, wenn sie sich anmelden . Verwenden Sie den Rabattcode MEMBER10 an der Kasse.

Kein Mitglied? Melden Sie sich noch heute an und erhalten Sie Mitgliedsvorteile.

Thank You for your Support

Ihr Kauf unterstützt die Mission und die Programme des Chrysler Museum of Art (einschließlich des Perry Glass Studio und des Moses Myers House). Wir könnten das, was wir tun, nicht ohne Sie tun. Danke schön.

Vollständige Details anzeigen

Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures
Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures
Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures
Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures
Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures
Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures
Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures
Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures
Artbook | D. A. P.

Dorothea Lange Words & Pictures

Regular price $55.00 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Toward the end of her life, Dorothea Lange reflected, “All photographs—not only those that are so-called ‘documentary’... can be fortified by words.” Though Lange's career is widely heralded, this connection between words and pictures has received scant attention. A committed social observer, Lange paid sharp attention to the human condition, conveying stories of everyday life through her photographs and the voices they drew in. Published in conjunction with the first major MoMA exhibition of Lange’s in 50 years, Dorothea Lange: Words & Pictures brings fresh attention to iconic works from the collection together with lesser-known photographs—from early street photography to projects on the criminal justice system. The work’s complex relationships to words show Lange’s interest in art’s power to deliver public awareness and to connect to intimate narratives in the world.

Presenting Lange’s work in its diverse contexts—photobooks, Depression-era government reports, newspapers, magazines, poems—along with the voices of contemporary artists, writers and thinkers, the book offers a nuanced understanding of Lange’s career, and new means for considering words and pictures today. An introductory essay by curator Sarah Hermanson Meister is followed by sections organized according to “words” from a range of historical contexts: Lange’s landmark photobook An American Exodus, Life and Aperture magazines, an illustrated guide to minimize racism in jury trials, and many more. These contexts are punctuated with original contributions from a distinguished group of contemporary writers, artists and critical thinkers, including Julie Ault, Kimberly Juanita Brown, River Encalada Bullock, Sam Contis, Jennifer Greenhill, Lauren Kroiz, Sally Mann, Sandra Phillips, Wendy Red Star, Christina Sharpe, Rebecca Solnit, Robert Slifkin and Tess Taylor.

Dorothea Lange (1895–1965) operated a successful San Francisco portrait studio in the 1920s before going on to work with the Resettlement Administration (and later the Farm Security Administration) documenting the hardships of the Great Depression and Dust Bowl migration. During World War II, Lange worked for the US government photographing the Japanese American internment camps, and California’s wartime economy. Lange’s photographs were published widely during her lifetime. Lange worked closely with curator John Szarkowski on a retrospective that opened posthumously in 1966 at the Museum of Modern Art.

View works by Dorothea Lange in the Chrysler Museum's collection.

  • 176 pages
  • 70 color, and 76 duotone illustrations
  • Hardbound in cloth
  • 9 × 10½ in (22.8 × 26.6 cm)
  • Published in February, 2020 by the Museum of Modern Art